Outstanding Contribution Award

December 2015: Published in the Journal of Hazardous Materials in 2014, the research paper titled, “Probability analysis of multiple-tank-car release in railway hazardous materials transportation” was selected as the winner of the 2016 TRB Committee on Transportation of Hazardous Materials (AT040) Outstanding Contribution Award. This article was written by the research team of Dr. Xiang Liu (Rutgers), Dr. Rapik Saat and Dr. Chris Barkan and was nominated by their peers. The purpose of this award is to formally recognize outstanding achievement in hazardous materials transportation research, innovation, regulation, or management. Awards are granted on an annual basis and presented to awardees at the TRB annual meeting during the Committee on the Transportation of Hazardous Materials meeting. This year the award will be presented on Tuesday, January 12th, 2016 in Washington, DC.