Barkan Receives Educator Award

Sep 2016: Chris Barkan, Professor and Executive Director of RailTEC, received the Michael S DeLarco Educator Award given by the DuPage Railroad Safety Council (DRSC). The award was presented at DRSC’s “Prevent Tragedy on the Tracks” conference in Oak Brook, IL on September 15, 2016 where Dr. Barkan was an invited speaker. This honor was given for his outstanding efforts to help promote railroad safety and was named after Michael S. DeLarco who lost his life in a train accident. DRSC is a nonprofit organization made up of railroad professionals, government officials, law enforcement, engineers, educators and private citizens who are dedicated to improving railway safety. Pictured above are UIUC student Lijun Zhang; Chris Barkan; Lanny Wilson, DRSC Chairman; and Weixi Li, UIUC student. Also attending the event was UIUC student Siyao Luan. To see Dr. Barkan’s presentation, click here.