Two RailTEC Undergraduates Receive CEE Awards

(L-R) Professor Chris Barkan with Lee Evans and Geordie Roscoe

The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) held its 2019 Awards Convocation on Saturday, April 13 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Champaign. Senior Lee Evans received the CN Railway Transportation Scholarship which was established in 2018 to encourage and support student excellence in rail engineering. It was created as part of CN’s support for RailTEC’s educational programs. Senior Geordie Roscoe received three awards: Norman and Mary Carlson Scholarship, A. Epstein Award in Civil Engineering, and the Ira O. Baker Prize. Established in 2005, the Norman and Mary Carlson Scholarship encourages students to pursue careers in the rail industry. The A. Epstein Award is given to a graduating senior who has earned the highest grade point average during his or her fifth, sixth and seventh semesters of undergraduate study and the Ira O. Baker Prize recognizes outstanding seniors and is the highest honor a graduating CEE senior can receive. Congratulations to both!