RailTEC Personnel to Lead AREMA Committees

C. Tyler Dick, Lecturer and Principal Railway Research Engineer, and Marcus S. Dersch, Principal Research Engineer, took over leadership responsibilities of two different American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way Association (AREMA) committees starting in September 2020.
Tyler is the Secretary of AREMA Committee 16 – Economics of Railway Engineering & Operations. His term will last for three years. Among its many areas of focus Committee 16 is responsible for the development and publication of current information regarding railway location and route comparison studies, train performance, locomotive characteristics, railway operation and engineering records. Committee 16 also manages the W. W. Hay Engineering Excellence Award.
Marcus is the Chair of AREMA Committee 30 – Ties. This committee is responsible for the development and publication of recommended practices and information relating to characterization of the load environment and performance of cross ties in track; specifications for design of concrete to be used in the manufacture of concrete ties or switch ties; design and use of concrete ties, including devices or systems for fastening rail to the ties; and evaluative tests for tie systems. Marcus has been the Vice-Chair for the past three years.