Winner of 2022 Hay Award for Excellence Announced

Michael Franke (L) presenting the 2022 Dr. William W. Hay Award for Excellence on Monday 29 August

For the past 24 years AREMA has recognized outstanding national and international achievement in railway engineering while honoring the memory and accomplishments of an Illinois faculty member by awarding a Dr. William W. Hay Award for Excellence. This year the award went to CSX and North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) for their project, “Carolina Connector Intermodal Project.” The project created the 310-acre “Carolina Connector Intermodal Terminal” (CCX) located in Rocky Mount, North Carolina, and is the newest and most advanced, state-of-the-art intermodal terminal on CSX’s system. The terminal serves as a vital link connecting railcars and trucks to transport products and goods across North Carolina and the country and represents a true public-private partnership success. To watch a video detailing this project, click here.

Hear more about Hay Awards in Season 2 Episode 4 of AREMA’s podcast: Platform Chats as the host, Walt Bleser, talks to AREMA members Michael Franke (Chair of the Hay Award Selection Committee, Senior Director, State Government Contracts (Ret) Amtrak), Christopher Barkan (Professor, George Krambles Director – Rail Transportation and Engineering Center – RailTEC, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) and Matthew Fletcher (Railway Market Principal, Hanson Professional Services, Inc.)

You can also read about the history of the Hay Award in an article written by Chris Barkan and Mike Franke. This piece is featured on pages 34-35 in CEE’s Magazine Summer 2022.