Strong Showing at 103rd TRB

The 103rd Annual Transportation Research Board (TRB) meeting in Washington, D.C. on 7-11 January 2024 had a strong showing in the rail section from RailTEC faculty, staff, students, and alumni.  In total there were over 75 separate references, including 49 authors, 20 Committee Members, 4 session chairs, and 3 committee meeting chairs. Click here for a guide to 2024 RailTEC contributions at TRB.

One highlight of the conference was the presentation of the William W. Millar Award to RailTEC’s Dan Mueller, Arthur Lima, Riley Edwards and Marcus Dersch. Their paper entitled, “Development of a Real Time Wheel Load Quantification System for the Transit Environment” was selected through peer-review under the Technical Activities Council as one of the best six papers at the conference. In addition, other members from Illinois’ CEE Transportation Engineering group received the K.B. Woods Award for outstanding paper published in the field of design and construction of transportation facilities. Angeli Jayme, Imad Al-Qadi and Egemen Okte were chosen for their paper entitled, “Environmental and Economic Efficiency of Stone-Matrix Asphalt with Surface Micro-Milling”.

TRB is the principal annual gathering of the North American transportation research community that typically attracts thousands of transportation professionals from around the world and the meeting program covers all transportation modes. There were more than 600 workshops, lectern sessions, committee sessions, and poster sessions addressing topics of interest to policy makers, administrators, practitioners, researchers, and representatives of government, industry, and academic institutions.

The 104th TRB annual Meeting will be held in Washington, DC at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center on January 5–9, 2025.