RailTEC at JRC

Pictured: Senior Research Engineer, Conrad Ruppert, Jr., and graduate student, Yubing Liang.
Pictured: Senior Research Engineer, Conrad Ruppert, Jr., and graduate student, Yubing Liang.

RailTEC faculty and students attended the 2018 Joint Rail Conference (JRC) in Pittsburgh, PA on April 18 – 20. In addition to current and former RailTEC faculty and students giving almost 30 presentations, they also held four of the ten Technical Program Committee spots, four of the 11 Organizing and Planning Committee seats, and were three of the Track Organizers. JRC is an international conference and the premier technical event in the U.S.A. including all disciplines for freight and passenger rail transportation; mechanical, electrical, civil, and systems engineering, as well as rail safety, planning, design, manufacturing, financing, operations, and management. Please click here to see photos from the event.

RailTEC Student Wins Fulbright Award


RailTEC Graduate Research Assistant Tom Roadcap was recently awarded a prestigious Fulbright Research Award. Fulbrighters have the opportunity to meet, work, live with, and learn from the people of the host country, sharing daily experiences. The program facilitates cultural exchange through direct interaction on an individual basis in the classroom, field, and at home. Tom’s work will be carried out at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) under the guidance of Professor Stephan Freudenstein, and will focus on railroad track infrastructure research. During the 8-10 month study period Tom will live in Munich, Germany and will attend lectures at TUM and build relationships in academia and within the European rail industry.


CEE Awards Convocation 2018 RailTEC Winners

April 2018: Congratulations to the four RailTEC students who were awarded University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Civil and Environmental Engineering honors this year at the CEE Awards Convocation on Saturday, April 7, 2018 at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center. The winners are:

  • Weixi Li – Charles E. DeLeuw Travel Award. (Enables an outstanding civil engineering student to inspect urban public transportation systems in foreign countries.)
  • Jasmine Munoz – Norman and Mary Carlson Scholarship. (Encourages students to pursue careers in the rail industry.)
  • Andi Li – Wayne C. Teng Scholarship. (Demonstrates potential strength for defining and solving a wide range of civil engineering problems.)
  • Geordie Roscoe – CN Railway Transportation Scholarship. (Encourages and supports student excellence in rail engineering.)
CEE Awards Ceremony 2018. (L-R) Weixi Li, Chris Barkan, Geordie Roscoe and Jasmine Munoz